Housework Motivation (or at least comfort).

Basically I’m procrastinating. But listen – I have decided to procrastinate in a productive way. Sort of. Or at least in a way that will make you feel better.

If you’re reading this then you probably know me, but if you don’t, I’m a 31-year-old definitely-adult stay-at-home mum. I have one 15-month old toddler. She is napping right now, or I wouldn’t be at my laptop typing, unimpeded by her wailing at me to pick her up and let her bash the keyboard with her sticky, biscuit-covered hands. Usually at this time she is at daycare, because I am lucky enough to be able to afford it without having to get a job, which is probably more than a lot of people reading this who have kids. I have free time. Usually I do the housework while she is at daycare.

Today they’re having a training day. Kid has to stay home with me. Kid has been up since 6am. Kid is grumpy. Mummy is grumpy. Mummy is tired. Kid has been napping for 45 minutes now and Mummy has eaten and *should* be getting on with the housework, but all she can think about is how tired she is. So tired she’s started thinking in the third person.

So I told google to “motivate me to do the housework”, and it came up with this article, which is full of tips you may or may not find helpful (I’d certainly be more motivated if I could put some really loud music on but like I said, kid napping). The important bit comes after that, when you scroll down and see the pictures. This woman, gods bless her soul, has had the marvellous idea of posting pictures of her messy house. And for some reason, upon seeing these photos (albeit taken by a much better camera than mine) I felt this weird relief. Like I wasn’t such a shitty housewife after all. Like maybe I’d been expecting too much of myself. Who wouldn’t procrastinate a little after spending the morning with a whiny toddler? Actually don’t answer that.

Anyway, I’ve decided to do the same thing. I took a bunch of photos of my messy house (just the downstairs, mind you) and I’m going to post them here for you to contemplate, compare to your own living space, and hopefully feel a little bit better about it.

Bear in mind that I tidied up yesterday and it’s already this messy again. If I hadn’t (and I usually don’t on Sundays), it would have been waaay worse.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You’re welcome.

Now… *sigh*… now I guess I have to clean it.

Leave a Reply

